Road Tripping In Tassie

Part Two: Tassie

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Freycinet National Park

Last minute trip to Tasmania was the best idea! Planned the trip and booked flights on a Friday and up in the air the following Monday. We were only there until Thursday of the same week so it was intensely jam-packed.   Flew into Hobart, rented a car, and we were on our way to Freycinet National Park and Wineglass Bay. It was little over a two-hour drive but it was definitely worth it. It started out as quite a gloomy day but by the time we got to Wineglass Bay it was completely clear. The walk to Wineglass Bay is a little arduous but the overlook for it is beyond worth it. It’s positively gorgeous and the water is so blue. We walked down to the beach and walked around and sat listening to the ocean waves and enjoying the view.

After all the walking around the park and taking in the beautiful beach we were on our way to Launceston for the night. Following a super early flight and all the driving we were very exhausted by the time we arrived. We ended having dinner at Burger Got Soul and I had a delicious Tassie Tempter on gluten-free bread. I’m still trying to accept the idea of having an egg on my burger.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset
Cradle Mountain Boathouse

The next morning we got up and headed straight to Cradle Mountain to do the Cradle Mountain lake walk. It was a very moody and misty day. Luckily we didn’t get rained on until the very end. The lake looked rather mystical that day with the fog and eerie sounds of barely anyone around. I would definitely suggest going on a clear day so you can actually see the mountain however, we didn’t have time to really schedule it out. However, it was a good trek.

Following this we were on our way again back to Hobart. We ended up there late evening checked into the cutest Airbnb in North Hobart, called Pocketspace, and we were off on the search for food. We ended up getting tacos at Sons of Baja. The tacos were not bad but unfortunately I consider myself a taco connoisseur from growing up in Florida where there’s great Mexican food they had tough shoes to fill.

IMG_8161
Bruny Island Neck Game Reserve view

Next morning we were out early again and headed to Bruny Island. Bruny Island was probably my favourite part of the whole trip. We took the ferry over to the Island and we were off to take the Bruny Island Wildlife Cruise. We stopped along the way at the Bruny Island Neck Game Reserve for a spectacular view of Bruny Island. We then had to make sure my mate could sign up for the cruise. After they were signed in we stopped off at Adventure Bay just to sit and take in the beach. The cruise itself was amazing. It last about 3 hours and you get to head into the Southern Ocean and see a bunch of seals. The only downside is it gets quite cold and I really regret not bringing another jacket. I was pretty cold for most of the ride. After the amazing views of Bruny Island we headed back onto the Island for a winery stop. We ended up at Bruny Island Premier Wines. I got a lot of food and I do not regret the food baby afterwards. I started with clam chowder and a bunch of oysters. For dessert I got a cheese plate. I won’t lie the cheese in Tassie is AMAZING! Honestly, the best part. I also had a very good class of Chardonnay.

After we ate clearly way too much we rolled ourselves back to the car and headed off the island back to Hobart. We took it easy for a bit and ended up walking down sto Hobart’s main centre, Battery Point, and having dinner at Monty’s on Montpelier. I had probably the best bbq beef I’ve had in my life. Of course we had to have more oysters so I had that to start.

On our last day we had every intention to go to the art museum MONA but we decided to have brunch instead. We ended up at Providence Café that was close to our Airbnb. It was one of the best breakfasts I’ve had in a long time. Not to mention the owner is apparently gluten free so there’s a lot of different options. I had a great scramble with basil and feta cheese on toast. Also, a great cup of coffee.

IMG_8268
Scramble from Providence Cafe

I really wish I brought Tassie coffee back with me. After a very relaxed morning we headed to the airport to drop off the car and wait for our flight. All in all, it was a whirlwind of a trip but I’m glad I went. The people were lovely, the food was a hit, and it was so beautiful. Not to mention, I ended up having a 30-minute conversation with an employee at the airport, which I feel would never happen in Sydney. I love random talks with strangers. Unfortunately (fortunately), now I want to head back to Tassie and explore more. I’ll just have to plan another trip out there.

Published by

missionwanderlustblog

This is a travel blog run by three like minded individuals from Florida, Kassim Richards, Stephen Mayhew, and Caitlin Knightly.  We all live and breathe traveling.  We want to bring our own thoughts and views on traveling and share our experiences.  We all hope you enjoy our photos and words from our endeavors.  Come on our journey as we try and travel the world living life through the eyes of wanderlust.

Leave a Reply

